Annual General Meeting 2023 – Agenda

18th May 2023

At The National Liberal Club, 1, Whitehall Place, London, SW1A 2HE 



1.  Apologies for absence

2.  Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 18th October 2022.

3.  Matters arising from the Minutes

4.  Adoption of the Accounts for the year ended 31st December 2022

The accounts and attendant documentation for 2022 can be found on the Society’s website.  Any member wishing to receive a copy by post should contact: 

Catherine Cooke, 15, Copperfield Court, 146, Worple Road, Wimbledon, London, SW20 8QA.  email:

5.  Annual subscriptions 

The Council recommends that there be no increase in subscriptions for the year 2024. 

6.  Election of Officers and Council Members

Jonathan McCafferty has decided to step down as President, and Council thanks him very sincerely for his services in that role.  Under the Constitution, the appointment of President is made annually by the Council, and the Council’s decision is advised to members at the AGM.  Council is delighted to appoint Mr. Bob Ellis as President for 2023-2024.  Bob is well-known to members and has previously served as Membership Secretary and as Chairman.

The Council comprises (a) 6 Officers, namely a Chairman, an Honorary Treasurer, 2 Honorary Secretaries and 2 Honorary Editors; (b) 6 Ordinary members. The Officers and two Ordinary members retire from office each year.

Ms Bonnie MacBird and Mr. Chris Seymour have come to the end of their period of service on the Council and we thank them most warmly for their diligent work.  Both have a wealth of experience and we will indeed fully draw on this experience going forward!

The Council recommends that Mrs Judi Ellis and Mr. Wang Chong be elected to fill the members vacancies.

The Council’s recommendations are as follows:-

  • For Chairman
    • Miss Catherine Cooke
  • For Joint Honorary Secretaries
    • Mrs Elaine McCafferty
    • Mrs Carole Markham
  • For Honorary Treasurer
    • Mr. Calvert Markham
  • For Joint Honorary Editors
    • Mr Roger Johnson
    • Mrs Heather Owen
  • For new Council members (three year terms)
    • Mrs Judi Ellis
    • Mr. Wang Chong

Members of the Society may propose alternative candidates for the Council vacancies: any such nominations, duly seconded, should be sent to reach Catherine Cooke at the address shown in item 4, not less than seven days before the Annual General Meeting.

7.  Appointment of Society’s accountants

To propose the appointment of Brooks Carling Accountants, 1st Floor, Highview House, Tattenham Crescent, Epsom KT18 5QJ as the Society’s independent accountant to replace Vantage Accounting Services Limited.  We thank the latter for their work on our behalf over the past few years.

8.  Any Other Business

Any Member wishing to raise an item under this heading is asked to give a minimum of seven days written notice to Catherine Cooke at the address noted in item 4 above.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop